For Immediate Release

Elaine Torda Elected Vice President of the National Collegiate Honors Council

January 22, 2018

Elaine Torda, professor and honors program coordinator at SUNY Orange, has been named vice president of the National Collegiate Honors Council following a membership-wide vote.

A member of the NCHC for nearly 15 years, Torda has been a strong advocate for two-year college programs. As chair of the NCHC Two-Year College Committee, Torda created, administered, and summarized membership surveys; facilitated numerous NCHC annual conference presentations; and wrote articles for the NCHC newsletter—circulated to over 1,000 NCHC institutional and professional members.

Torda received the NCHC Ron Brandolini Award for Excellence at a Two-Year Institution in 2015. This award, presented by the NCHC and the Valencia College Foundation, recognizes a two-year college honors director or faculty member for their outstanding contributions to the honors community.

In a statement, Torda emphasizes the importance of collaboration in building honors education. “We must continue to find ways to educate people on the positive nature of honors on national and international stages.” Torda added, “I would love to explore these opportunities collaboratively with my NCHC colleagues and represent our organization in the multiple arenas in which we can and must function.”

As vice president, Torda now serves as a member of the NCHC executive committee for the next four years. As President Elect in 2019, she will chair the NCHC’s annual conference, and wil assume the NCHC presidency in 2020.

The National Collegiate Honors Council is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that seeks to support and enhance the community of educational institutions, professionals, and students who participate in collegiate honors education around the world. Headquartered on the University of Nebraska-Lincoln campus, the NCHC provides publications, faculty trainings, an annual professional conference, and networking opportunities to its members, as well as experiential travel programs and honors student scholarships.


Naomi Yavneh Klos, Ph.D.
President, National Collegiate Honors Council
Director, University Honors Program, Loyola University New Orleans
(504) 864-7330

Mary Beth Rathe
Executive Director, National Collegiate Honors Council