NCHC Fellows

NCHC Fellows Award

NCHC Fellows are distinguished individuals who have given substantial time and energy to furthering the cause of honors education. Their years of dedication and leadership, paired with recognition on their home campus for outstanding honors teaching, make them invaluable sources of knowledge in the honors community.

NCHC members are invited to nominate those who have made a national impact on the honors community for distinction as an NCHC Fellow.

Factors considered for nomination include:

  • NCHC, regional, and/or state honors organization leadership
  • Scholarly activities relating to honors education
  • NCHC, regional, and/or state honors special events, institutes, etc.
  • Recognition for outstanding honors teaching on the home campus
  • Assistance provided to other honors programs/colleges (site visits, consulting, etc.)
  • Demonstrated record of sustained commitment to honors education
  • (3) Nomination letters: in order to be considered for the Fellows distinction, candidates must be nominated by three (3) current NCHC professional, student, or institutional members, only one of whom may be from the same institution as the candidate.

2019 Class of Fellows

Kyoko Amano

Lock Haven University

What is your favorite NCHC memory?

Long nights spent talking about honors, sharing ideas, commiserating budget cuts, and celebrating student successes with NCHC colleagues after the board meetings.

What do you consider to be your greatest professional achievement?
Becoming an NCHC Fellow!

Timothy Nichols

University of Montana

What is your favorite NCHC memory?

Presenting a session with students on 'making meaning' in honors at NCHC Denver (2014). At one point in the session, I just sat back and listened to the students stories and it hit me like a ton of bricks: this work matters; this work makes a difference.

What do you consider to be your greatest professional achievement?

Being an active, contributing member of the family of honors educators, now at three institutions, and seeing the transformative, positive impacts honors can make in the lives of students and faculty.

Art L. Spisak

University of Iowa

What is your favorite NCHC memory?

It's all about the personal connections. My best memories in that regard are associated with being part of the leadership of the NCHC. I worked with persons who were both accomplished and deeply dedicated to the field of honors education and NCHC. One specific example (aside from a certain Pub Board gathering in Detroit, which included some very good food, drink, and camaraderie) was a leadership summit of the NCHC Executive Committee. We were deciding whom to hire for the NCHC executive director position. Because of the many, many hours we had already given to the task, and because of the various unexpected and challenging turns the task had taken, we were so attuned that even though our decision was an abrupt turn from our original direction, it was both quick and unanimous (and proved to be a good one). It was near to a religious experience!

What do you consider to be your greatest professional achievement?
Hmm... actually understanding all the pieces (alright, most of the pieces) of the NCHC budget? Seriously, I like to think that with my seven years on the NCHC board and four years in its leadership I've helped it to go to the next level in its development as the national organization for honors education. Also, I'm proud of the research I've been able to do on honors education. Finally, I like to think that the honors program/college reviews I've done have brought some good.

2020 NCHC Fellows Nominations

Nominations will be accepted January 25 - March 1, 2020.

Please use the form below, or at this link.


Kyoko Amano (2019)

Larry R. Andrews (2012)

William Atwill (2016)

C. Grey Austin (2011)

Richard Badenhausen (2010)

Elizabeth C. Beck (2010)

Gary Bell (2010)

Patrice Berger (2015)

Irmgard Bocchino (2012)

Bernice Braid (2010)

Ron Brandolini (2012)

Earl Brown (2015)

Margaret Brown (2015)

Kate Bruce (2010)

Catherine Cater (2011)

Ira Cohen (2010)

Lisa L. Coleman (2012)

Richard J. Cummings (2012)

Lydia R. Daniel (2010)

Freddye T. Davy (2012)

Joan H. Digby (2010)

Steven Engel (2018)

Ted Estess (2012)

Barry Falk (2016)

John Grady (2012)

Annmarie Guzy (2015)

Jerry Herron (2018)

Bonnie Irwin (2010)

Jocelyn Jackson (2011)

Melissa L. Johnson (2018)

G. Hewett Joiner (2013)

Kathleen King (2015)

Carolyn Kuykendall (2013)

Jennifer Lane (2010)

Greg Lanier (2010)

Donzell Lee (2010)

Ada Long (2010)

George Mariz (2014)

Virginia McCombs (2012)

Dail Mullins (2010)

Mary Kay Mulvaney (2015)

Timothy Nichols (2019)

Rosalie Otero (2010)

Anne Ponder (2012)

Jeffrey Portnoy (2010)

John Portz (2011)

Alison Primoza (2011)

Ann R. Raia (2013)

P. Brent Register (2013)

Jack Rhodes (2012)

Jessica Roark (2014)

Rae Rosenthal (2018)

James Ruebel (2015)

Hallie Savage (2010)

Samuel Schuman (2010)

Rick Scott (2011)

Ricki Shine (2012)

Charlie Slavin (2011)

Laurie Smith Law (2018)

Art L. Spisak (2019)

Robert Spurrier (2010)

Elaine Torda (2013)

Lothar Tresp (2016)

Norm Weiner (2012)

Marca Wolfensberger (2013)

Len Zane (2015)

John Zubizarreta (2010)