Congratulations to all our 2019 Award Winners!

2019 Class of NCHC Fellows

Kyoko Amano, Lock Haven University

Timothy Nichols, University of Montana

Art L. Spisak, University of Iowa

Sam Schuman Award for Excellence at a Four-Year Institution

Dr. Linda Frost, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Ron Brandolini Award for Excellence at a Two-Year Institution

Prof. Kathleen King, Hillsborough Community College

NCHC Award for Administrative Excellence

Lanita Addison, University of Central Arkansas

2019 Student of the Year
(4-Year Institution)

Molly Carrig, Creighton University

2019 Student of the Year
(2-Year Institution)

Reedhi Bamnelkar, Cleveland State University

Freddye T. Davy Scholarship

Gabrielle Altenor, Newman University

Alana Castillo, Hillsborough Community College

Jireh Deng, California State University, Long Beach

Vanessa Giramata, Washington State University

John J. Hanigan Scholarship

Rachel Rudis, Shippensburg University

Portz Interdisciplinary Research Fellowship

Alexis Hepburn, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - $5,000
Project Title: "Exploring Improvements of Miniaturized Hall Thrusters for Long Duration Satellite Missions"

Anisha Mittal, Fisk University - $5,000
Project Title: "Structural and Functional Characterization of Acinetobacter baumannii Superoxide Dismutase B"

Louisa Sholar, Elon University - $5,000
Project Title: "Gender Justice and the Global Population Debate: A Case Study in Guyana"

Alejandra May, Purdue University - $1,000
Project Title: "The effect of climate change on the niche space of North American proboscideans."

Susan Naseri, University of Connecticut - $1,000
Project Title: "From War to Civilian Life: Evaluation of Integration Policies for Urban Refugees in Amman, Jordan"

Griffin Woods and Nancy Morrissey, South Florida State College, - $1,000
Project Title: "Cancer Research. Understanding the roles of transforming growth factor beta (TGFβ), signal transducers and transcription modulators of multiple signaling pathways (SMADS), bone morphogenetic protein (BMP-9), the type I TGFβ receptor Activin-Like Kinase 1 (ALK-1), endoglin, and activin A on cancer cells in blood vessel formation in endothelial tumor cell growth, and how these components could be manipulated to arrest metastatic pathways from developing."

NCHC Portz Scholars

Isis Garcia-Rodriguez, Suffolk University
Title: "Legal Status Effects on Parent-Child Relationships and Parent Well-Being"

Kennedy Dickson, University of Mississippi - Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College
Title: "Cannabinoid Conundrum: A Study of Anti-Epileptic Efficacy and Drug Policy Abstract "

Max Nakamoto, University of Hawai'i at Manoa
Title: "Relative Size Learning in Honeybees (Apis mellifera)"

NCHC Newsletter Awards

Student - Print

1st: Salisbury University, The Saunterer
2nd: Iona College, The Pinnacle

Faculty/Administrator/Student - Print

1st: University of Wisconsin-Stout, Outlook Magazine
2nd: Georgia Southern University, Honors @ Georgia Southern
3rd: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, CHP Annual

Student - Electronic

1st: California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, Newsletter
2nd: University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, The Aggregate
3rd: University of Nebraska at Omaha, The Distinction

Faculty/Administrator/Student - Electronic

1st (tie): Bowling Green State University, The Scroll
1st (tie): Suffolk University, Honors Program Newsletter
3rd: University of North Carolina Greensboro, Navigator

2019 Faculty Poster Winners

Developing New Course Offerings:
Ken Thomas, Auburn University
"Auburn's K(no)w Poverty? Week of Service: From Student Affairs to Academic Affairs"

Revitalizing an Existing Course:
Samantha Jones, Brianna Ballard, and Reagan Harrington, University of Maine
"Of Hand and Mind: An Artist's Tools Applied to Honors"

Program Innovation (tie):
Teddi Deka, Missouri Western State University
"Degree Planning with Freshmen Honors Students to Improve Persistence and Progress"
Loree Crow, University of Northern Colorado
"Insights into Who is Most Likely to Withdraw from Our Honors Program"

2019 Student Posters: SPUR Awards
(Sloane Prize for Undergraduate Research)

Art & Visual Media:

1st: Kirstyn Harris, Augusta University

Arts & Humanities:

1st: Courtney Baldwin, Northeast Texas Community College
2nd: Elaine Brightman, Mississippi University for Women
3rd: Valentina Tardugno Poleo, Lone Star College System

Business, Engineering & Computer Science:

1st: Alex Craig, University of Texas at Tyler
2nd: Danae Lawrence, Augusta University
3rd: Sanjana Adepu, Augusta University


1st: Chryssabella Jones-Craig, Suffolk University

Education & Pedagogy:

1st: Noor Khalayleh, Youngstown State University
2nd: Dana Sherr and Emma Stark, Marist College

Environmental Sciences, Conservation, & Green Technology:

1st (tie): Keira Mull, Notre Dame of Maryland
1st (tie): Ebony Griffin, University of Texas at Tyler
3rd: Rebecca Conrad and Devon Popson, Ball State University

Health Sciences:

1st: Brooke Barton, Washington State University
2nd: Dohee Clara Kwon, Texas Women’s University
3rd: Samuel Alvarado, University of West Florida

Natural Sciences & Mathematics:

1st: Riley Juenemann, Tulane University
2nd: Syed Mehdi Husaini, Monmouth University
3rd: Austin Baggetta, Northeastern University

Social & Behavioral Sciences:

1st: Ava Michl, University of Alabama at Birmingham
2nd: Ryan Dunne, Arcadia University
3rd: Catherine Gable and Whatt Hinkle, Colorado School of Mines

Social Justice:

1st: Kyla Scott, East Tennessee State University