Congratulations to all our 2021 Award Winners!

2021 NCHC Founders Award

Dr. Samuel Schuman
(accepted by his son, Daniel Schuman)

2021 Class of NCHC Fellows

Andrew Cognard-Black, St. Mary's College of Maryland

Keith Garbutt, Oklahoma State University

Sam Schuman Award for Excellence at a Four-Year Institution

Steven Engel, Georgia Southern University

Ron Brandolini Award for Excellence at a Two-Year Institution

Bruce Thompson, Frederick Community College

NCHC Award for Administrative Excellence

Joan Kjeldsen, Salisbury University

2021 Student of the Year
(4-Year Institution)

Katey Ryan, Florida Gulf Coast University

2021 Student of the Year
(2-Year Institution)

Bryan Kirk, Northeast State Community College

Freddye T. Davy Scholarship

Rosalie Anthony, Point Park University

Samantha Gonzalez, Miami Dade College

Dalia McCloud, Hillsborough Community College

Alessandra Payne, Iona College

John J. Hanigan Scholarship

Julie Centofanti, Youngstown State University

Community Engagement Award

Emma Cummings and Austen Smith, Lincoln Memorial University

Portz Interdisciplinary Research Fellowship

Mikayla Harrison and Luke Little, Missouri Baptist University - $5,000
Project Title: "Mitigating Chronic Stress in University Students: A Mixed-Methods Comparative Analysis of Cognitive Behavioral Therapy on Psychological and Physiological Response to Chronic Stress"

Noam Gal, Baruch College - $5,000
Project Title: "Transportation Equity in East Flatbush, Flatlands, and Canarsie"

Elizabeth Peller, Creighton University - $5,000
Project Title: "Razor Women: Female Criminals and Detectives of Sydney in the 1930s"

Chryssabella Jones-Craig, Suffolk University - $1,000
Project Title: "Contracts in the Constitution: Effects of the United States Constitution's Protection of Contracts on the Black Working Class"

Jesselyn Nadolny, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire - $1,000
Project Title: "An Examination of the COVID-19 Crisis on Creativity within the World Language Classroom"

Christian Ciattei, Salisbury University - $1,000
Project Title: "Human-capuchin coexistence in touristic and non-touristic mangrove islands, Maranhão State, Brazil."

NCHC Portz Scholars

Sarah Hagglund, Kent State University
Title: "The Myth of Bologna? Women's Cultural Production during the Seventeenth Century"

Samantha King-Shaw, Washington State University
Title: "Refusing Erasure: Nugent, Fire!!, and the Legacies of Queer Harlem"

Brigitte Lewis, The University of Mississippi
Title: "The Legend of Neptune"

Luke Hershey, Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania
Title: "The Novalbumcast: An Experiment in Form"

NCHC Newsletter Awards

Student - Print

1st: Shippensburg University, The Wood Honors College Newsletter
2nd: Ashland University, The Honors Bugle
3rd: Ball State University, News and Notes

Faculty/Administrator/Student - Print

1st: Youngstown University, With HONORS
2nd: The University of Southern Mississippi, The Medallion

Student - Electronic

1st: California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, Newsletter
2nd: California State University, Long Beach, The Honor Code Magazine
3rd place (tie): College of San Mateo, Labyrinth
3rd place (tie): SUNY Brockport, The Promethean

Faculty/Administrator/Student - Electronic

1st (tie): Suffolk University, Honors Program Newsletter
1st (tie): Bowling Green State University, The Scroll
3rd: University of North Carolina Greensboro, Navigator

2021 Faculty Poster Winners

Developing New Course Materials:

Deirdre Ragan, The Citadel
“Humanitarian Development and Engineering Design as a Foundation for Multidisciplinary Honors Learning.”

Revising/Revitalizing an Existing Honors Course:

Laura Turner, Charlotte Carrington-Farmer, and Erin LoMonaco, Roger Williams University
“Reflecting on Remote Reacting to the Past: Lessons for the Future”

Innovation in Advising, Housing, or Program Administration:

Stephanie Miller, Oklahoma State University
“Reimagining Experiential Learning Under COVID-19”

2021 Student Posters: SPUR Awards
(Sloane Prize for Undergraduate Research)

2021 SPUR Awards PDF

Art & Visual Media:

1st: Rachel Beckman, Governors State University
“I'm At a Loss, But Not For Words: A Multimedia Creation”

Arts & Humanities:

1st: Sierra Stark Stevens, Middle Georgia State University
" “She Dwells in Possibility": Emily Dickinson as Intermedia"

2nd: Sydney Amos, Eastern Kentucky University
“America Arts for All: Promoting Musical Opportunity and Equity for Socioeconomically Challenged Students"

Business, Engineering & Computer Science:

1st: Clark Bailey, University of West Florida
“Simulation and Control of Flow of Virus-Laden Aerosols in Enclosed Areas”


1st: Spencer Khley, Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania
“Equality in Numbers But Not in Rank: An Analysis of Female Faculty in Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education between 2005 and 2020”

Education & Pedagogy:

1st: Gladys Chan and Tooba Narejo, University of Houston-Downtown
“Virtually Engaged Communities - Strive for Equitable Societies”

2nd: Allison Anderson, Northern State University
“Teachers' Knowledge about Grade Retention in the Early Grades”

3rd: Morgan Lybarger, Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania
"Roadblocks to Recovery: How Resource Accessibility Curbs Addiction in Rural Communities"

Environmental Sciences, Conservation, & Green Technology:

1st: Olivia Hime, The Citadel
“Egg Development Strategies of Parasitoid Wasps, Aprostocetus hagenowii"

2nd: Tawnie Williams, Northern State University
“The Degradation of Exposed Plastics under Landfill Conditions Using Ideonella Sakaliensis”

3rd: Sydney Herman, St. Norbert College
“Lake Surface Area and Maximum Depth Affect Zooplankton Species Biomass in 14 Lakes in Superior National Forest, MN”

Health Sciences:

1st: LilliAnna Radwan, Texas Women's University
“The Effectiveness of The Power of Nursing™ on Students' Perceptions of Classroom Connectedness”

2nd: Tulan Le, University of the Incarnate Word
“C-7 Functionalization and Synthesis of Derivatives of the Antimalarial Agent Artemisnin”

3rd: Jarvis Pennington, Lincoln Memorial University
“Characterization of the Lumbar Arteries in Relationship to Lateral Lumbar Interbody Fusion Surgical Landmarks”

Natural Sciences & Mathematics:

1st: Elizabeth Gwartney, Oklahoma City University
“Novel Antibiotics from Oklahoma Soil”

2nd: Sean Thompson, Washington State University
“scRNA-seq and scATAC-seq Reveal the Profile of Regenerating Skin in Young Mice”

3rd: Ritika Samant, University of Alabama at Birmingham
“The Role of Disease Activated Microglia in the Pre-Formed Fibril Model of Parkinson's Disease”

Social & Behavioral Sciences:

1st: Josiah Williams, High Point University
“Positive Reinforcement and Interactive Activities Increase Elementary School Students' Interest in STEM Areas”

2nd: Myla Yang, The Ohio State University
“Body Vigilance and Fear of Catching COVID-19 among College Students: Investigating the Role of Information Processing”

3rd: Jakob Lippert, Northern Michigan University
“ "Es wird alles gut": Reconstructing Gender for a Post-Nazi Society in the "Heimatfilme" of 1950s Germany”

4th: Palak Patel, Augusta University
“Racial Segregation and COVID-19 Health Outcomes: Evidence from Georgia”

Social Justice:

1st: Maria Reyes, Monroe College
“Past vs. Present: Civil Insurrections in Latin America to Forge a Just and Equitable Future”