NSSE Honors Consortium

Open Call for Participation in the 2023 NSSE Honors Consortium

Deadline: September 23, 2022

We are pleased to announce a call for interested parties at NCHC four-year degree member institutions to join the Honors Consortium for the Spring 2023 administration of the National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE). The NSSE is one of the most widely used surveys of undergraduate student experience in the United States, asking questions on high impact practices and dozens of other items of special interest to honors educators. This will be the fifth year in a multi-year effort to maximize participation among interested schools that participate in NSSE in alternating biennial or triennial cycles.

This project opens up to participating institutions the possibility of comparing honors to non-honors students on every item in the standard NSSE survey, as well as a small set of additional questions designed by a special working group of the NCHC Research Committee. More than 20 schools have already participated in the last four administrations of NSSE, generating rich student-level data for comparison of the honors student experience with that of the general student body. For instance, evidence from the NSSE Honors Consortium Survey presented at the 2022 conference of the American Educational Research Association has shown us that honors program participation in the first year of college is a positive predictor of intention to return to an institution the following school year.

For full details, please see the Open Call for Participation document in the table below.

Honors program leaders who are interested in this project should work to secure commitments from campus stakeholders and submit a signed NSSE data sharing agreement by September 23, 2022. Those pursuing such commitments are encouraged to indicate their intention to join the Honors Consortium as soon as possible.

For those interested in joining the NSSE Honors Consortium, please contact consortium coordinator Dr. Andrew Cognard-Black (e-mail: ajcognardblack@smcm.edu), co-chair of the NCHC Research Committee.

NSSE Honors Consortium Working Group
Jaclyn Chancey, University of Connecticut
Andrew Cognard-Black (chair), St. Mary’s College of Maryland
Doug Marshall, University of South Alabama
Robert Pampel, Saint Louis University
Philip Phillips, Middle Tennessee State University
José Rodriguez, Florida International University
Michael Sloane, University of Alabama-Birmingham
Betsy Yarrison, University of Baltimore