

Annual Business Meeting and Presidential Address Dallas Sheraton Saturday, November 5, 2022 9:00AM CDT Lone Star A4

I. Welcome

The meeting was called to order by President Christina McIntyre at 9:02 AM CDT. She introduced the NCHC Executive Committee and Board members, and introduced the NCHC staff, Tyrra Edwards and Amber Klaus. President McIntyre thanked Edwards and Klaus for the tireless work on the Dallas conference.

II. Announcements

President-Elect Susan Dinan announced that the awards ceremony would be held in the ballroom at 5:30 PM CDT in the Ballroom. She thanked attendees for their work in honors, their work for their students, and she thanked them to traveling to Dallas to the conference.

III. Adoption of Agenda

A motion was made to adopt the meeting agenda by Ryan Diehl, and the motion was seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

IV. Approval of 2021 Annual Business Meeting Minutes:

A motion was made by Suketu Bhavsar, and seconded by Kristina Pickering. The motion passed unanimously.

V. Treasurer's Report

NCHC Treasurer Keith Garbutt report that the 2021 report was compiled before the 2020-2021 audits, and both audits were clean. The budget has remained in the black in 2020-2021 because of COVID relief funds, and because the national office is not fully staffed. The Endowment has decreased but it is still performing above average compared with similar endowments. In the current financial climate NCHC is still financially stable, and he is optimistic for 2023.

VI: Old Business

President-Elect Dinan reported on the 2022 conference. She reiterated her thanks to Tyrra Edwards and Amber Klaus for their hard work planning the conference, and reminded members to thank them for their amazing work. The mural service project went very well, and Channel 5 news reported on it (Dallas-Fort Worth NBC affiliate). Many new things were attempted at this year's conference and the national office organized it well. The hotel staff had also been very helpful. Dinan also thanked everyone who had organized signature programs, program strands, and sessions.

The final registration number was 1368 registrants. 57% were administrators and faculty, and 43% were students. There were 771 first-time attendees.



VII. New Business

Vice President Eddie Weller gave a report on the 2023 conference, to be held in Chicago November 1-5, 2023. The theme is Revolutionary Honors: Liberty, Equality, and Humanity. He is excited for the conference and thanked the membership for its creativity. He requested that if any members have ties to Chicago, to e-mail him with ideas.

VIII. 2022 Election:

Elections Committee chair and NCHC Immediate Past-President Suketu Bhavsar reviewed the succession plan for the Executive Committee as a four-year cycle. The Vice President will serve as President-Elect/Conference Organizer, then President and Immediate Past-President. On the ballot would be a vote on Lifetime Membership dues. The vote involved changing the dues from \$3000 to \$1000. The Constitution and Bylaws requires a membership vote to change these dues, and members were asked to vote for that in the upcoming ballot. Ballot: Lifetime Membership. CBL requires this be a membership vote. Dues will change from \$3000 to \$1000 and members will be asked to vote for that.

Nominations:

The 2022 Slate of Candidates were announced:

Executive Committee Officer Nominees

- Vice President: James Buss, Northern Kentucky University
- Treasurer: Keith Garbutt, Oklahoma State University (Three-Year Term)

Professional Board of Director Nominees (Three-Year Term)

- Anne Dotter, Johnson County Community College
- Emily Hill, University of Iowa
- Sara Hottinger, Coastal Carolina University
- Liz Hynes-Musnisky, Nassau Community College
- Fawn-Amber Montoya, James Madison University
- Patricia Smith, University of Central Arkansas
- Joshua Stockly, University of Louisiana-Monroe
- Christopher Syrnyk, Oregon Institute of Technology

Student Board of Director Member Nominees (Two-Year Term)

- Thomas Blalock, United States Air Force Academy
- Connor Brezenski, United States Air Force Academy
- **Daniel Cho, United States Air Force Academy**
- **Agustin Echeverry**, United States Air Force Academy
- Allysa Hargis, United States Air Force Academy
- Clay Loper, Angelo State University
- **Kelsey Monaghan-Bergson,** United States Air Force Academy
- **Jillian Richarz,** The University of Tampa



Student Board of Director Member Nominees (One-Year Term)

- Helen Agee, United States Air Force Academy
- Zachary B. Curd, United States Air Force Academy
- Madeline Olson, United States Air Force Academy

Nominations were then accepted from the Floor:

Executive Committee Officer:

- Vice President: Darryl Peterkin, Morgan State University
- Treasurer: John Emert, Ball State University (Three-Year Term)

Nominations were closed for Board Member Officers from the floor.

Professional Board of Directors Members (Three-Year Term):

• Beata Jones, Texas Christian University

Nominations were closed for Professional Board Member nominations from the floor.

Student Board of Directors Members (Two-Year Term):

- Beau Benoit, University of Louisiana-Monroe
- Eliza Davis, Notre Dame of Maryland University
- Shayan Hosseini, University of Nevada-Reno

Nominations were closed for Student Board of Directors Members (Two-Year Term)

Student Board of Directors Members (One-Year Term):

- Andrew Ali, Northern State University
- Anushree Chauhan, Rowan University
- Conor Daley, Ball State University
- Kayla Kensen, Northern State University
- Temera Sinclair, Hillsborough Community College

Nominations were closed for Student Board of Directors Members (One-Year Term)

IX. Recognition of Retiring Board Members (McIntyre)

President McIntyre recognized those Board members retiring from the Board this year. She thanked the Board for their thoughtful discussions, collegiality, and their hard work and service to NCHC. Those retiring from the Board after 2022 included:

- Suketu Bhavsar, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona (2019-2022)
- Keith Garbutt, Oklahoma State University (2020-2022)
- Victoria Bryan, University of Tennessee, Chattanooga (2020-2022)



- Conor Dailey, Ball State University (2021-2022)
- Robert Gasperson, San Antonio College (2022)
- Beata Jones, Texas Christian University (2022)
- Kristine Miller, Utah State University (2020 2022)
- Kristina Pickering, Notre Dame of Maryland University (2021-2022)
- Vidya Surti, University of Pittsburgh (2022)

X. Presidential Address by President McIntyre See addendum to minutes

XI: Passing of the Gavel

President McIntyre passed the gavel to incoming President Susan Dinan, and McIntyre was thanked again for her tireless work to NCHC.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:44 am CDT.